All About Self-Worth

I have two younger sisters, ages 20 and 17.  They tell me all the time that Facebook is on the way out, and Twitter and Instagram rule the social networking world.  That may be true for their generation, but I have about 1000x more friends on Facebook than on Twitter.  I really only even got a Twitter so I can keep in touch with my sisters’ lives.

In addition to the fact that all my friends are on Facebook and hardly any are on Twitter, I would argue the value of Facebook because every once in a while you come across something you just needed to see.  It’s those moments when you are just scrolling through your newsfeed and you see a status or picture that had to have been put there by Divine Inspiration.

This happened to me the other day.  I was having an exceptionally low day when I came across this photo, posted by Women Rock MN (sponsors of the first half marathon I ever ran):

Seriously, how perfect?

I had a pretty clear picture of what my future looked then, and then my world was turned upside down.  I was scared to continue on with my life, scared to start my new journey.  But then I saw this and it really got me thinking: how many of us fear the future because we are scared of the unknown, and how many of us are afraid that we aren’t good/smart/beautiful/nice enough to deserve good things?

I truly believe everyone I know is worth the effort, even my ex-fiancee.  We are all people and we all have human dignity.  I have such an easy time thinking that about others (okay, it’s a little more difficult to think that about my ex) but such a hard time thinking that about myself, so I set this picture as the background on my phone.  Now every time I check my phone, I remind myself that I am worth it.

To everyone reading this, I promise that you are worth it.  You’ve just got to figure out a way to believe in yourself.  I can’t say that I’m 100% there yet, but I’m getting better.  And, I’ve got to say, it feels damn good.

2 thoughts on “All About Self-Worth

  1. I have to say, I’m glad you decided to keep blogging. You have such a beautiful way with words and I admire your resilience. It is a bit sad that we don’t hear often enough that we’re worth it, but you know what, you’re damn right. (you’re awesome, stay awesome!)

Leave a Reply

