Finding Motivation in the Cold

Dangggggggg it’s cold outside.  I was actually stuck at my parents’ house last night because the interstate closed due to high winds, blowing snow, and zero visibility.  So I had the fun time of getting up at 6 AM today to drive to Fargo and make it to school by noon.  Gross.

ImageTrying to walk when you can’t see (from the Fargo Forum)

This weather makes it really difficult to find motivation to do anything that requires leaving the house (No groceries?  I’d rather get reallyyyyyy creative with my cooking than venture out to the store).  It is especially difficult to get up the energy to go work out.  I have a strange relationship with exercise.  It’s very easy for me to get addicted to going to the gym.  I skip once or twice, and it’s also really easy for me to stop going.  I’m really trying to get in the “addiction to working out” phase again so I can start training for another half marathon.

Untitled24   Running my first half marathon with my aunt, September 2012

I managed to get my butt to the gym on Saturday morning and it was uglyyyyy.  The last time I’ve ran was when I did an Ugly Sweater 5k on November 16.  I legit made it 2 miles and gave up.  I was already mad at myself for the short run, and then I was SO. SORE. on Sunday.  It was frustrating to be that sore when you ran a half marathon less than 8 months ago.

photo (3)My friends and I after the Fargo Half last May

Every time I get myself in shape I promise that I’m not going to stop.  Then life gets in the way and I find myself unable to run a 5k and carrying about 20 extra pounds that I would like to get rid of.

I kept telling myself that after Christmas was when I was really going to get in shape for the wedding.  Then all that stuff happened and not only was I not getting in shape, I wasn’t doing much of anything.  I’m coming to realize that I need to be healthy for myself, not for someone or something else.  Just because I’m no longer getting married in 5 months does not mean that I shouldn’t be healthy (also, I think my sisters and I are going to Puerto Rico over the wedding date, and I do not want to look like a beached whale).  Of course I want to look good, but I also want to feel good.  I want to live a long and healthy life for myself and for my future family.

I really need to establish a lifestyle that maintains this instead of training for 2 months before a race, running it, and then losing everything I worked for.  Anyone have any motivation tips (especially when it’s -45 outside and going to the gym sounds awful)?

One thought on “Finding Motivation in the Cold

  1. I love love love that you are getting away with your sisters over what would have been the wedding weekend. Reminds me of the part in the Sex and The City Movie where the girls join Carrie on her would-have-been honeymoon!!!

    I feel you on the ZERO motivation in winter. So hard.

Leave a Reply

