Letting Go

If you have yet to see Disney’s new animated film “Frozen,” you need to drop whatever you’re doing, go to your nearest movie theatre, and watch it.  I grew up watching Disney movies and love them, but “Frozen” just blew me out of the water.  It’s like “Tangled” on steroids.

One of my favorite scenes from this movie is when Elsa sings her song “Let It Go.”  This song was (rightfully so) nominated for the Academy Award for Best Original Song (and is a favorite to win).  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=moSFlvxnbgk

Everyone I know loves this song (and the Demi Lovato version) but listening to the lyrics gives me chills: Let it go, let it go/Can’t hold it back anymore/Let it go, let it go/Turn away and slam the door…It’s time to see what I can do/To test the limits and break through

So, so perfect for my life right now.  I’ve had a lot of crummy stuff happen.  The negative emotions have threatened to hold me back and overwhelm me.  I feel like there is so much in my life that I just don’t have control over and it’s really freaking me out.

My therapist reminded me that it’s ok if I’m not always in control.  Leadership is a good quality, but I don’t have to be in charge all the time.  I can’t sit back and let life mow me over, but I can let go a little bit.  I can’t control anyone else, so worrying about that is useless.  The only person I can control is me.  I’m really working on letting go of everything else and focusing on making me better.

I’m a big fan of the show “The Biggest Loser.”  It seems like so many of the contestants on that show have the same story: for a long time they put everyone else’s needs ahead of their own and lost themselves in the process.  I’m not quite as bad as these people, but I can see that I’ve definitely done this in my own life (especially with my relationship with my ex).  I used to be of the mindset that I can take on other people’s problems because I’m strong enough to deal with them AND my own.  I now realize that I’m not this strong; I was dealing with the other problems and not with my own.  I used to think it was selfish to say that I can’t help someone else out because I have to take care of myself.  Now, I understand that if I don’t take care of myself I’m no good to anybody.

Of course, there needs to be a balance with this.  I have people that I love, and I don’t want to completely shut them out and only think about myself 24/7.  The idea of letting go is pretty new to me, and so I’m having a hard time finding a good balance.  While I’m not great at the actual process, the simple idea is very freeing.  I don’t have to take care of everything.  It’s ok not to know the answer all the time.  It’s ok to be weak sometimes.  It’s ok to have faith that there is something bigger out there that has a plan for me.  Cheesy as it sounds, saying these things feel like a breath of fresh air on my soul.  I feel free.

Ok, I’m going to go listen to “Let It Go” on repeat for a while.  Have a great day y’all!

Leave a Reply

