Trying (hard) to Stay Optimistic

I got an awful text from my best friend yesterday.  It was a text that no one should ever have to send.  I had just left school for the day and saw it on my phone:

ImageNot even stopping to consider if she sent the text because she didn’t want to talk about it, I immediately called her.  Her dad has been struggling with some mental health issues for awhile now.  Like she said in the text, they don’t really know what happened.  Last I heard they were waiting for autopsy results.

This news really threw me.  I’ve experienced very few deaths in my life, and the majority of those that have impacted have been people who passed in their old age.  To see my best friend lose her 50-year-old dad is really hard, especially because just two weeks ago she announced that her and her husband are expecting their second baby.

My best friend is one of the sweetest, kindest, most caring people I know.  I’m not saying that anyone deserves bad things to happen to them, but she definitely doesn’t.  In the last 24 hours I’ve asked myself countless times “Why her?  Why did this happen to her?”  

ImageI was the maid of honor in her wedding 3 years ago

I usually try to keep a really positive attitude, but today I am struggling.  Life is just really fricken hard sometimes.  How do we keep a positive outlook in the face of all the crap?  And WHY does it have to be so damn difficult?!

Does anyone have any advice or tips on how to pull your mood out of the gutter when life keeps throwing curveballs?

One thought on “Trying (hard) to Stay Optimistic

  1. I am sorry for this family’s loss. I recently shared the story of the two wolves which illustrate the good and the bad side of our existence. The point of the story is the the wolf you feed the most is the one that wins. I have started to say at some point as or just after my feet hit the floor, “I choose to feed the good wolf today.”

    Another thing that I keep in mind is from the words of Jesus when he says “the rain falls on the just and the unjust.” That’s not often a comforting thought but it has helped me navigate some painful periods.

    I also have enjoyed your posts and the important honesty you have shared especially in your decision to end your engagement. That decision shows a person of character at their finest even when it is painful.

    Regards

    Jim

Leave a Reply

