Ok, this is getting ridiculous

In my last post, I lamented about trying to stay positive when it seems that bad things just keep happening.  That trend continued over the weekend.  I went home to attend my friend’s dad’s funeral, and the bad stuff just kept piling on.  I had some personal stuff I had to deal with on Friday night, and then on Monday morning we got word that there had been a major fire in my high school (where my dad still teaches and my sister is a senior).

Picture from today’s paper

We don’t know much yet, but the fire started in the main office and apparently spread rapidly.  There is extensive smoke and water damage throughout the school, and officials very much doubt that classes will be able to resume in the building this school year.

photoLooking into the front doors of the school

This is really hard to see happen.  My sister is a senior and is pretty bummed that she won’t get to finish out her high school career in this building.  The school was definitely my second home, and it hurts to see it so damaged.  Since it is private, the school doesn’t have a lot of funding and repairs/rebuilding will be difficult (however, alumni are already mobilizing and ready for the word to begin fundraising).

It’s just like, seriously?!  When does it stop?  I feel like 2014 has definitely been a “when it rains it pours” kind of year.  I’ll get to a point and think ok, things have to get better now, and then some other crappy thing happens.

After finding out about the fire I still had to go to the funeral and watch my best friend say good-bye to her dad, which was awful and really hard.  I’m really trying to keep things in perspective (thank God no one was injured in the fire) but it’s just so hard when so many bad things keep happening and I don’t feel like I have control over any of it.

How do I make it stop??

Leave a Reply

