Movin’ On Up

Guys, my string of bad luck in 2014 is getting almost comical.  This happened yesterday:

ImageI was lifting weights at the gym, set a 20-lb dumbbell on a bench and went to change the song that was playing on my phone.  As I did this the dumbbell rolled off the bench and landed on my foot.  My doctor was shocked it wasn’t broken because it was so swollen and tender.  I’m so relieved, because I only have to wear the boot for 1-2 weeks, meaning I should still have enough time to train for the half.  Six weeks in a cast would have forced me to withdraw my name.  I was scared to go to the doctor, because this is what my foot looked like after icing it for a solid 2 hours to bring the swelling down:

ImageNotice how my right foot is twice the size of my left?  Yeah, that’s why my doc thought it was broken

Now that I’m stuck gimping around in a boot, I needed something to cheer me up.  I texted my sister and asked if she wanted to go shopping to start getting ideas for our apartment decor.  Let me tell you, that was a great call.  We had so much fun wandering around Hobby Lobby and Gordmann’s, getting ideas and inspiration for our new place.  It’s really nice living with your sister because your tastes usually match up (and when they don’t you have no problem telling her that thing she likes is ugly).

Because we are working with a teacher’s and college student’s budget, we will probably want to do a lot of DIY in our place.  DIY is also nice because it means we could start working on projects now to help hold our excitement about moving at bay until June 1.  Here are a few of the projects we want to get going on:

1. Giant Letter Wall Art

We have a fairly long, blank wall in our living room.  Nikki had the idea of creating a giant letter “G” (our last initial) and putting it on the wall as a focal point.  Our vision would look something like this:

Giant Monogram  Wall Decals  Your Choice of Letter  by DaliDecals, $40.00

We don’t want to do the vinyl sticker thing, so we have to figure out what we want to use to create our letter.  Right now I’m thinking of using a large sheet of thick posterboard or balsa wood (any other suggestions?).

2. Jewelry Organizer

I’ve been wanting to do a project like this for a long time, but it was always pushed to the back burner.  I don’t have a very big jewelry box, so a lot of my jewelry is stuffed into random boxes.  I often forget about a lot of the pieces I have because they are scattered all over.  I REALLY like this idea that I found on Pinterest:

jewelry organizerI really like how this has a place to hang necklaces but also has little boxes for earrings and rings and such.  So many of the other organizers I’ve seen just create space for necklaces and dangly earrings.  I want all my jewelry in one place if possible.

3.  Wine Bottle Decor

Like many other kitchens, we have about a foot and a half of space between the top of our cupboards and the ceiling.  I refuse to put fake plants or ivy up there, but it also looks too plain with nothing.  I came across this picture on Pinterest and was immediately inspired:

Wine bottle diy decor. I'm loving this bottle idea to decorate.I‘m not sure if I would wrap the bottles with yarn or just paint them, but I like the idea.  And I have access to PLENTY of empty wine bottles (I studied abroad in Rome, it’s not my fault I’m a wino).  Simple, easy, and looks adorable.

These are 3 projects I plan on starting ASAP (like I said, I’m getting really impatient to move in!) but I am sure there will be plenty more that come about as we get settled and see what else we need.  I’m glad I have this little crafting outlet.  I’ve said before that I’m not an overly crafty person, but I am pretty decent at finding tutorials that are simple enough for me to take on.  

I’m not sure if this shopping trip helped ease the excitement about moving or made it worse, because now I think I am even more impatient to move in!

One thought on “Movin’ On Up

  1. Pingback: Alive on the Other Side | Musings in the Midwest

Leave a Reply

