30 Things

There’s a fabulous article that’s been circulating on Facebook recently called “30 Things to Stop Doing to Yourself.”  If you haven’t read it I demand you stop reading this post immediately and click on this link (but come back when you’re done!)

http://www.lifebuzz.com/just-stop/

I am guilty of so many of the things this list advises against.  I worry a lot, I look to others for happiness, I’m scared of making mistakes, I waste time explaining myself to others, etc., etc.  There are a few things on this list that don’t really apply to me, but for the most part I was just described to a T.

The first step in correcting any problem is to recognize that it exists in the first place.  I’m not delusional enough to pretend that I don’t have several of the issues listed in that post.  And I also completely see the merit in following the authors’ advice.  I probably would be a lot happier if I could stop trying to compete with everyone else (or stop worrying, or feeling sorry for myself…).  I can recognize this, but how do I actually carry it out?

I know I am in control of my own attitude and my response to various situations.  But I’ve been a perfectionist and a worrywart for basically my entire life.  How do I just stop?  I really like how the article offers a few ideas about how to actually stop the negative behaviors (#16. Stop being jealous of others. – Jealousy is the art of counting someone else’s blessings instead of your own.  Ask yourself this:  “What’s something I have that everyone wants?”) and I am going to make a commitment to follow through on these.  I think I tend to be a person who reads suggestions like this and then promptly writes them off as cheesy or corny.  Worse, I may think they are good ideas but worry that someone else will think I’m cheesy and corny for doing them (2 negative behaviors that are on the list!  Bad Amy!).  

So here I go.  You guys heard it here.  Today starts the process of retraining my brain to stop the negative thoughts and behaviors.  It’s time to just stop.

Leave a Reply

