Just Keep Swimming

Ok, is anyone else struggling majorly to make it through this week?  I can’t believe it is only Wednesday morning–it feels like Monday was about 3 weeks ago!

I’m looking forward to this week being over for multiple reasons.  Number 1, it’s a short week.  The week isn’t as short as it was supposed to be (today was supposed to be our last day before break, but we are making up a fake snow day–see this post) but we still only have one more day before we are off for break.  And let me tell you, this break is much needed.  The kids are all checked out and we are dealing with behavior issues we don’t normally see.  The staff is also pretty tired and many of us are finding it difficult to stay motivated day in and day out.  Easter break is going to be welcomed by all.

Reason #2:  it’s almost Easter.  I really enjoy Easter weekend.  I like all the church services (even Good Friday, even though it’s pretty depressing).  I’m sooooooo excited for Lent to be over so I can drink coffee again (worst idea ever to give that up).  I’m excited to see my family and some of my friends who will also be back, dye eggs, and eat a delicious meal on Sunday afternoon.  Easter is all about new life and joy, so for me it usually marks the arrival of spring.  No matter that we woke up to snow on the ground in Fargo this morning, once Easter comes it feels like spring is here.  And since Easter is pretty late this year, once we come back it feels like it’s basically summer break.

Reason #3:  after Easter I get to spend 5 days in Pittsburgh.  My school is sending me on an all-expense paid trip to attend the NCEA (National Catholic Educational Association) National Convention.  I am attending with two other teachers (one from each of the Catholic grade schools).  I fly out of Dickinson early Monday morning, and then it’s 5 days of listening to awesome speakers, attending workshops and huge worship celebrations, staying in a hotel (I LOVE staying in hotels), going to Pirates games, and taking in all Pittsburgh has to offer.  Did I mention it’s all free?  

So yes, I am very ready for this week to be over.  I feel like life has been throwing a lot at me again, and Easter break and the NCEA trip will be just what I need to rejuvenate.  I’m ready for a break from my normal routine and to get out and experience new things and meet new people.  I want to have a busy schedule so I don’t have time to sit around and let my mind wander over all the things that have happened lately.  I’m so excited to go to the convention and learn everything that I can, but I’m also welcoming the distraction it will provide from everything else.  Plus, it’s really nice to be excited about something again.

As much as everything that happened last week hurt me, I’m glad it happened when it did.  I only had to get through a few days and now I get to go surround myself with the loving support of my family and some of my friends, and then I get to take a trip that will probably be amazing.  This situation just reinforced for me that God has a plan and everything happens for a reason.  I think I needed to find out the things I learned last week about C.  That experience helped me come to new understanding and acceptance about what happened with our relationship.  But it was still really hard and painful to learn those things, so it’s good that it happened right before I get to leave on these trips.  It was a painful yet necessary experience, but the timing of it is making it a little easier to live through.

I guess the moral of this post (here I go again with the lessons) is that if you are going through a crappy situation, do your best to keep struggling through.  Everything happens for a reason, and great pain often leads to great change and growth.  Instead of asking God why you have to deal with so much crap (which is where I was last Friday) instead ask for strength to get through and trust the plan.  If you can do that, it will usually work out in the end.

Also, anyone else going to be at NCEA next week?!

2 thoughts on “Just Keep Swimming

    • Really? Could you tell me a good/safe running route? We are staying about a half mile from the convention center so I was just planning to run along the river, but I wasn’t sure if there are areas that I shouldn’t run through on my own…

Leave a Reply

