Aaaaaand We’re Back!

I’m back for my first real post in almost 3 weeks!  I had to double-check that, because it doesn’t seem like it can possibly be that long since I posted, but it’s true.  Life has been absolutely crazy these past few weeks, but I’ll try to be brief and get myself caught up.

I was in Pittsburgh from April 21-25 for the NCEA National Convention.  I went with two other teachers from the Catholic elementary schools in Fargo.  I hadn’t met either teacher beforehand, but we got along really well and had an amazing week.

Displaying photo1.jpg

The three teachers at a Pirates game

The conference was wonderful as well.  I attended some incredible speakers and got a ton of great resources that I will be able to use as I transition to the 6th grade classroom next year.  Plus, it was a much-needed break from life in Fargo.  Next year the NCEA convention is in Orlando, and I’m really really hoping my principal asks me if I want to go again!

I came back from Pittsburgh, was at school for two days, and then left again as a chaperone on the junior class retreat.  We went out to a campground on Pelican Lake in Minnesota.  I didn’t know what to expect on the retreat because they had asked me to come along only 5 days before we left, so I didn’t have much time to prepare.  The retreat was another amazing experience.  It was definitely about the juniors and helping prepare them to lead the school next year, but the chaperones got a lot out of it too.  This was another event that I hope to be asked back to.

We got back from the retreat on Thursday afternoon.  I was in Fargo for approximately 24 hours before we took off for Rochester, MN for my cousin’s wedding.  That’s about a 4.5 hour drive from Fargo.  I was pretty exhausted before we even left, but I wanted to go support my cousin and see my family.

Displaying photo2.jpgDolled up for the wedding with my cousin, brother’s girlfriend, and sister

I won’t lie, I was not excited for this wedding.  It’s the first one I attended since breaking off my own engagement.  I was supposed to be at this wedding crazy excited to get married myself in 50 days, and instead I was hoping to be able to get through the day without breaking down.  

I would be lying if I said it was easy.  There were several moments during the ceremony when I forced my mind to wander so I wouldn’t get overwhelmed by what was happening.  This was also the first time I had seen several family members since everything happened, so they asked how I was doing and wanted to talk about the very things I was trying not to think about.  I got through the ceremony, dinner, and toasts, and when the dance started I was fine.  It was good to dance with my cousins and just have fun.  Hopefully now that the first wedding is out of the way things will get easier, since I have 3 more to go to in the next 6 months.

I’m finally back in Fargo for a few weeks, but that doesn’t mean life is any less busy.  We have 14 school days left (!!!) so things are getting crazy.  On top of that, this Saturday is D-Day (aka, the day of the half marathon).  I have no idea if I’m ready.  My longest training run was 10.17 miles (ran last Tuesday).  I’m hopeful, because that’s over 2 miles longer than the longest runs I did before that 2 other half marathons that I’ve done.  I think this race is going to be a mental thing for me–I’m pretty sure my body can do it, so long as I don’t psych myself out.  As I was nearing the end of my 10-mile run, I thought to myself “at this point next Saturday, I will still have a 5k to run.”  I started feeling desperate and panicky.  That’s exactly the type of crap I need to NOT do on race day.  I need to just make up my mind that I’m going to do it.  After everything I’ve lived through these past few months, I can run for 2 hours (my time goal is 2:15–about 10:18 min/miles).  And I want the feeling of pride after I’ve crossed the finish line and know I did it.  I want that badly.  I’m trying to spend a lot of my time this week visualizing it.  That was a piece of advice I was given back when I did Weight Watchers–instead of focusing on the pain of what you are going through, visualize how good it will feel when you finish.  Hopefully that applies in half marathons too.

This post didn’t really serve any purpose other than to catch up on where I’ve been the last few weeks and explain why I’ve been neglecting you.  My mind is pretty focused on the half this week, so that’s probably all I’ll be talking about.  Hopefully next week I’ll be exciting and interesting again (I AM exciting and interesting sometimes, right?)!

Half marathon countdown–4 days, 16 hours, 43 minutes (thanks to the Fargo Marathon app I downloaded this morning)

Leave a Reply

