The Final Countdown

If you need to get pumped up on this Friday, click this link and proceed to rock out:

This is it.  It’s the final countdown.  In less than 24 hours I will be (hopefully) done with the half marathon.  I’m a whole bundle of nerves right now.  I had a running nightmare last night–I dreamed that I only made it 4 miles and then had to quit the race because I was in too much pain.  Not a great dream to have 2 nights before the race.  In addition, it seems like I’ve been talking about the marathon all morning.  We had the annual Staff vs. Student basketball game this morning, and about a hundred different students and teachers asked why I’m not playing (I am not good at basketball, but everyone knows I coach it and I also am usually game to participate in these kinds of activities).  I repeated to everyone that I’m running tomorrow and, knowing my luck, I would twist an ankle and 3 months of training plus $70 would be wasted.

In spite of being incredibly nervous, I’m also getting excited.  I made a randomly awesome playlist to run to (I put it on shuffle and the first three songs that came up were “Get Silly” by V.I.C., “Tainted Love” by Soft Cell, and “Love is an Open Door” from Frozen) and looking at those songs is just getting me pumped.  In addition, the whole weekend is an exciting event.  According to the last numbers I saw, there’s going to be something like 21,000 runners and volunteers participating.  I have no idea if there are estimates on how many people come to watch, but it’s a lot.  There are over 50 live bands or DJs scattered along the course.  Despite the pain of running 13.1 miles, it’s a really fun and exciting event.

I’ve been bouncing back and forth between excitement and nerves all morning.  I texted my aunt this morning about my dream making me nervous, and she replied that she’s pretty nervous too but tomorrow is going to be “all about mind over matter.”  I’m trying to believe that and tell myself that I’m going to do it.  It’s probably going to hurt, but I’m going to do it.  I want the feeling of crossing that finish line and being proud of myself.  Pushing through pain for 2 hours and 20 minutes is totally worth that.   And hey, I get to have a day of carbing up–nothing like eating carbs all day and not feeling badly about myself!

If you are awake tomorrow morning between 8 and 10:30 AM CDT, please send some positive thoughts my way.  I’ll probably need as much help as I can get :S

 Half marathon countdown:  0 days, 19 hours, 16 minutes

Leave a Reply

